Community, Diversity, Sustainability and other Overused Words

Miss Malibu Pro Women's Longboard Invitational

The Miss Malibu Pro Women's Longboard Invitational debuted at Surfrider Beach on Aug 9/10, 2014 and it was a huge success!!

The winner and first Miss Malibu Pro is Kaitlin Maguire of Oceanside, California. Kaitlin's performance was on point all weekend! Not only did she win the final, she also earned the Wave of the Day award and cash prize, by Jericho Poppler, for scoring a perfect 20 in her semi final. Runner-up was awarded to Makayla H. Smith.

The Most Inspirational Surfer in memory of Diane Sanders was awarded to Sophia Tiare Bartlow for her joy and love of Malibu, spreading aloha amongst all who crossed her path. Sophia showed outstanding sportsmanship throughout the entire event; interacting with all the women, joining in the tandem exhibition and being a volunteer for AWOW.

This event is about featuring women who compete on the ASP World Tour, ASP WQS Tour, Western Surfing Association, NSSA, ESA, HSA, Surfing America, Coalition of Surfers, local women and the next generation of girls who want to become Pro or just enjoy surfing Malibu.

Expression sessions occurred with local Dogtown legends Jeff Ho, Alan Sarlo, Jim Muir & Ronnie Jay. A special appearance by the organization, A Walk On Water (AWOW) joined us for a surf with legend Joel Tudor, and the RVCA surf/skate team put on a performance which included Local Phenom, Shane Borland.

Event Sponsors, tandem teams, locals and families of competitors all were invited to surf in an expression session with less than 10 people out at a time and all had the time of their life!


Reader Comments(0)