Santa Monica Observer - Community, Diversity, Sustainability and other Overused Words

Pilots to be Honored at Museum of Flying, including Dick Rutan and Angela Masson

Mike Melvill flew SpaceShipOne into space on June 21, 2004


April 17, 2018

Burt Rutan and Spaceship One. Mike Melvill – The world's first commercial astronaut who flew SpaceShipOne into space on June 21, 2004

The Museum of Flying has confirmed the attendance of the 2018 inductees into the California Aviation Hall of Fame. They are Angela Masson, Mike Melvill, Dick Rutan, and Barry Schiff. The Induction Ceremony and Dinner will be held on Saturday, May 5, 2018 with a 6:00 pm reception and Dinner and Program to follow at the Museum.

Hall of Fame Selection Committee member Ramona Cox will serve as the Master of Ceremony as long-time Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chairman, Nissen Davis has recently retired.

Angela Masson – Is an accomplished airline and private pilot and professor at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University and was the first female Chief Pilot for American Airlines. Masson holds multiple patents including the first true electronic flight bag (EKB).

Mike Melvill – The world's first commercial astronaut who flew SpaceShipOne into space on June 21, 2004 Mike is the sole or joint holder of nine FAI aviation world records in various categories. Mike was the Chief Test Pilot for Scaled Composites for more than 30 years.

Dick Rutan – Was the first pilot to fly an aircraft around the world nonstop with co-pilot Jeana Yeager in 1986 flying the Voyager aircraft. Dick is a highly decorated Air Force combat pilot awarded the Silver Star, Purple Heart, Five Distinguished Flying Crosses, and 16 Air Medals.

Barry Schiff – Captain Schiff has logged more than 28,000 hours of flight time and has flown 356 different types of aircraft including the B-52, P-51, and the V-22 Osprey. Barry holds every category and class rating issued by the FAA except airship and was a commercial aircraft pilot for TWA for 34 years.

Previous inductees include Buzz Aldrin, Bob Hoover, Clay Lacy, Frank Robinson and Burt Rutan. The California Aviation Hall of Fame is a subsidiary of the Museum of Flying and is housed at the Museum.

The event serves as a fundraiser for the Museum of Flying a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Tickets for the event are $250 and are available for purchase on the Museum of Flying website. Table and ticket sales will close on April 30, 2018.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020