Santa Monica Observer - Community, Diversity, Sustainability and other Overused Words

Brightest Supermoon Since 1948 to Dominate Skies Tonight

The next supermoon will be November's full Beaver Moon, which is expected to reach the peak of its full phase on the morning of Monday, Nov. 14

 

November 14, 2016

This year, the full moons of October, November and December all take place when the moon is at its closest point of approach in its orbit around Earth — a so-called supermoon.

The moon will appear 14% bigger and 30% brighter than your average full moon, said astronomer Corey Powell. Because it's so big and bright, it does not require a telescope. Just go up with a pencil and piece of paper, and see what you can draw.

The moon will reach its peak at 854 PM EST. Los Angeles clouds will see it rising and becoming yellow and orange. Monday night will be almost as good. "you don't have to time this event to the minute," he said. There will be a slightly better supermoon in 2034, said Powell, editor at large of Discover magazine.

The next supermoon will be November's full Beaver Moon, which is expected to reach the peak of its full phase on the morning of Monday, Nov. 14, at 8:52 a.m. EST (1352 GMT), but it will appear full to the casual observer in the day before and after the main event. It is the second of three consecutive supermoon full moons for 2016.

This full moon will be not only the closest and brightest supermoon of 2016 but also the largest since 1948, Bob Berman, an astronomer at the Slooh Community Observatory, told Space.com. What's more, the full moon won't come this close to Earth again until Nov. 25, 2034, according to a statement from NASA. The Slooh Community Observatory will offer a live broadcast for November's full moon on Nov. 13 at 8 p.m. EST (0100 GMT on Nov. 14).

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018